News Portal

BRICS agrees to welcome six new members, says PM Modi


(From L to R) President of Brazil Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva, President of China Xi Jinping, South African President Cyril Ramaphosa, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Russia’s Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov attend the 2023 BRICS Summit on the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg on August 24, 2023.
| Photo Credit: AFP

In a landmark choice, members of the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) on August 24 declared enlargement of the grouping by welcoming six new international locations into the fold. Announcing the choice on the finish  of the 15th BRICS summit at Johannesburg, Prime Minister Narendra Modi stated addition of recent members would strengthen the outfit and improve confidence within the concept of multipolar world order. Current Chair of BRICS South African President Cyril Ramaphosa introduced the Johannesburg Declaration, the result doc of the summit, and made an oblique reference to the Ukraine battle saying the grouping’s members had sought “peaceful resolution” of disputes.

“I am happy that our teams have built consensus on the guiding principles, standards, criteria, and procedures for expansion of BRICS. On this basis we have agreed to welcome Argentina, Egypt, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Ethiopia and the United Arab Emirates into BRICS. I congratulate the leaders and the people of these countries,” Mr. Modi stated, expressing confidence that along with the brand new members, BRICS would be capable of have new dynamism and power in its actions.

Explained | Why is the BRICS summit necessary for India?

The choice to broaden BRICS was taken 13 years after the organisation was final expanded with the addition of South Africa in 2010. Originally consisting of Brazil, Russia, India, China, BRICS was envisioned as a global-level outfit of main economies which can be taking part in an more and more necessary position within the post-Cold War world order.

Mr. Modi stated India had heat relation with the six international locations who have been set to be the brand new BRICS members from subsequent January and added, “India is trying to build consensus so that some countries that have expressed desire to join BRICS can work as partner countries.”

Mr. Ramaphosa introduced that the BRICS had adopted the Johannesburg Declaration.

“We reiterate our commitment to inclusive multilateralism and upholding international law, including the purposes and principles enshrined in the United Nations Charter. We are concerned about the ongoing conflicts in many parts of the world. We stress our commitment to the peaceful resolution of differences and disputes through dialogue inclusive consultation,” Mr. Ramaphosa stated.  He additionally pointed on the rising disparity on the earth which is but to get better from the ravages of the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic.

Mr. Ramaphosa introduced that Dilma Roussef, the president of the New Development Bank, has submitted a report concerning the scope of the financial institution and its imaginative and prescient. Mr. Modi additionally thanked everybody on the BRICS for greeting India on the profitable delicate touchdown of Chandrayaan- 3 on the south pole of the moon. He stated the success of India’s moon mission was an achievement of the scientific neighborhood of the world. 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More