Hindi News Portal

Two journalists win Nobel Peace Prize for defending freedom of expression


Philippine journalist Maria Ressa and Russian Editor Dmitry Muratov have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his or her “efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace,” the Nobel Committee introduced on October 8, 2021.

Dmitry Muratov has for many years defended freedom of speech in Russia below more and more difficult situations. In 1993, he was one of many founders of the impartial newspaper Novaja Gazeta. The newspaper’s fact-based journalism {and professional} integrity have made it an vital supply of knowledge on censurable elements of Russian society hardly ever talked about by different media.

Since the newspaper’s begin, six of its journalists have been killed. Despite the killings and threats, Novaja Gazeta’s editor-in-chief Dmitry Muratov has refused to desert the newspaper’s impartial coverage. He has constantly defended the rights of journalists, a press release by the committee mentioned.

Maria Ressa, the primary lady Nobel laureate of this yr, makes use of freedom of expression to reveal abuse of energy, use of violence and rising authoritarianism in her native nation, the Philippines, the assertion mentioned. In 2012, she co-founded Rappler, a digital media firm for investigative journalism. Rappler has targeted important consideration on the Duterte regime’s controversial, murderous anti-drug marketing campaign.

The prestigious award is accompanied by a gold medal and 10 million Swedish kronor (over $1.14 million). The prize cash comes from a bequest left by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895.

On Monday, the Nobel Committee awarded the prize in physiology or medication to Americans David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian for his or her discoveries into how the human physique perceives temperature and contact.

The Nobel Prize in physics was awarded on Tuesday to 3 scientists whose work discovered order in seeming dysfunction, serving to to clarify and predict complicated forces of nature, together with increasing our understanding of local weather change.

Benjamin List and David W.C. MacMillan have been named as laureates of the Nobel Prize for chemistry on Wednesday for locating a better and environmentally cleaner solution to construct molecules that can be utilized to make compounds, together with medicines and pesticides.

The Nobel Prize for literature was awarded on Thursday to U.Ok.-based Tanzanian author Abdulrazak Gurnah, who was acknowledged for his “uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the results of colonialism and the destiny of the refugee.”

Still to come back Monday is the prize for excellent work within the area economics.

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More