News Portal

Tibetans in 26 international locations forged votes for Dharamshala-based parliament-in-exile


Tibetans residing in 26 international locations together with India on Sunday voted for the ultimate part of the overall election for the Dharamshala-based parliament-in-exile to elect the subsequent Sikyong (president), an official stated.

Forty-five members of the Central Tibetan Administration (CTA), additionally referred to as as Tibetan-parliament-in-exile, may even be elected by the voters, Wangdu Tsering, the chief election commissioner of the Tibetan election fee stated.

There are round 1.3 lakh Tibetans residing in exile in India and throughout the globe. The Tibetan government-in-exile will elect its head on May 14.

In the final part of the polls to the put up of the president of the CTA solely two candidates — Pempa Tsering and Aukatsang Kelsang Dorjee — are within the fray, Wangdu Tsering stated.

However, Pempa Tsering, the previous chairman of Tibetan parliament, is the entrance runner.

During the primary part of elections, there have been eight candidates contesting for the put up of Sikyong. Pempa Tsering secured the utmost votes (24,488) adopted by Dorjee (14,544).

Sikyong is the pinnacle of the Kashag or Cabinet, a part of the chief department of the CTA, and the put up was created by the Tibetan parliament in 2011 to offer democratic governance to the exiled Tibetan neighborhood.

Prior to that, Tibetan religious chief Dalai Lama used to train the powers as temporal head of the Tibetan neighborhood in all affairs.

Lobsang Sangay, who grew to become the primary Sikyong of the CTA, has held the put up for 2 phrases, and in accordance with the structure, he can not contest for a 3rd time period.

Pempa Tsering had misplaced to Mr. Sangay in 2016.

“We are sending a clear message to Beijing that there is no democracy in China and Tibetans don’t enjoy freedom but under the great leadership of his holiness the Dalai Lama, we in-exile have been given this gift of democracy and today is a proud day,” Mr. Sangay informed reporters.

According to Wangdu Tsering, 83,079 voters are collaborating within the electoral train.

“We have two kinds of elections — one is for the presidential election of the CTA and the second is parliamentary. There are two nominees contesting for the post of the president and Tibetans are also voting to choose 45 members of parliament. We will declare the results on May 14,” he stated.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More